Westchester Hebrew Softball League

Jump to your team's page:

B'nai B'rith vs. WJC in 2015 WHSL Finals


Written by: Scott D. Simon
Monday, September 28, 2015

B'nai B'rith will face off against Westchester Jewish Center in the 2015 WHSL Finals. The best-of-three series begins with a doubleheader on Sunday, October 4, 2015, starting at 9:00 a.m. at Flowers Park in New Rochelle.

Larchmont was responsible for one of B'nai's two losses in a dominant 14-win regular season. The two teams matched up in the semifinals. Larchmont held Game 1 leads of 2-0 and 4-1 thanks to timely hitting and solid defense from Sam Wallach, who returned from his new home in Maryland to start at shortstop. After B'nai scratched out a couple more runs, B'nai's speedy outfielder Murray Goldfarb blasted a two-run homer in the bottom of the seventh inning to give B'nai a 5-4 lead it would not relinquish.

Game two of the B'nai-Larchmont series followed the same script. Larchmont jumped out to an early 2-0 lead, but B'nai climbed back on top in the sixth inning, then put the game away in the ninth with a two-run Lee Goldstein single, ending the scoring at 5-2. Russ Ellis and Justin LaCava pitched well for Larchmont, though they were outdueled by B'nai's lefty Dan Forrester, who went all the way in both games to send B'nai to the finals.

The Chappaqua-WJC semifinal series featured dominant pitching on both sides. WJC did not have a single hit with runners in scoring position all day against Lenny Meshberg. But WJC's Game 1 starter Adam Eis yielded only one hit, and WJC eked out its only run of the game on a groundout. Game 2 was nearly a carbon copy of the first game, except that Jon Nissenblatt threw WJC's second 1-0 shutout of the day.

These finals feature the winners of three of the last four WHSL Championships. 2011 WHSL Champions B'nai swept the 2015 season series from WJC, but it was 2012 and 2014 Champions WJC that knocked B'nai out in the semis of the 2014 Playoffs. It should be a great series. Hope to see you at Flowers Park.

© 2018 LeaguePro, Inc. All rights reserved.
This site created by LeaguePro Inc.